TESTIMONIALS

Don’t just take our word for it! Here’s what our GHBA members have to say about their involvement.

 

Here’s what our members say:

Being a part of this association the past 4 years has brought me so much more than I ever imagined. Strong, successful, caring, dedicated, professional… there are many adjectives that describe the people that make up the Greater Houston Builders Association.

Analisa M. Pratt, CKD The Detering Co April 2, 2016

GHBA is a very valuable asset to our Industry. You can get as much value out of it as you like. The more active you are as a member the more successful you will be at your job and your company. I have personally witnessed and experienced this in the last 27 years!

Greg N Tomlinson Builders Post-Tension April 2, 2016

GHBA is one of the best ways to network and make new friends and customers.

Edward Neumann Goodman April 2, 2016

GHBA is the “go to” for Residential Construction information in the Greater Houston area. The Education Focus is a tremendous asset to the community of builders and remodelers. The generosity of homebuilders and remodelers is legendary through the Benefit Homes Project and HomeAid Houston. No other Builders Association in the Nation can compete with this organization, it’s leadership and staff.

Max Hoyt ACES Builders Warranty, Inc. April 2, 2016

Good to be back with GHBA. Had a great Custom Builder meeting today. It was very informative and met some new and old friends.

Dan Brubaker Construction Services April 2, 2016

Great BBQ event. We had a great time!

Judyth Piazza Incredible Renovations April 2, 2016

Great people in the association, combined with consistent networking, equals great opportunities!!!

Trudy Traino Avanti Stone April 2, 2016

Greymark gets so much from the GHBA, couldn’t do without it.

Sandra Crook Greymark Construction Co. April 2, 2016

Having been a GHBA member since 1988 I have benefited greatly from the close associations I have made with other industry members and trade partners. It is been my privilege to serve as GHBA president as well as see my son Kevin serve the association as its first second-generation president.
Get involved, stay involved.

Jim Frankel FrankelBuildingGroup.com April 2, 2016

I have just started attending GHBA events and I am looking forward to getting more involved.

Karen Ashcraft Southwest Sales April 2, 2016

I have learned a lot from most of the classes and enjoyed meeting the good people from the building community!

Charles Chou TreeGrace Realty April 3, 2016

I love that the Remodelers group starts each meeting with the pledge and a prayer! We need more of that in our world…

Diane Morris Venetian Blind and Floor Co. April 3, 2016

I thoroughly enjoy all things GHBA!

Parke Patterson Parke Patterson Land Development April 3, 2016

I was very involved in GHBA activities 30 years ago. The GHBA was an outstanding industry resource then. I returned to Houston and homebuilding 4 years ago. From my perspective, the GHBA’s diversity, effectiveness and influence have grown significantly. We should consider ourselves quite fortunate to have access to the quality resources the GHBA makes available to us all.

Kevin Stuckey Stuckey Builders, LLC April 3, 2016

I’ve been a member of GHBA for many years and attribute much of my success to the great builders and vendors that I’ve worked with over the years. Thanks GHBA!

Cindy Aplanalp Yates Chairma Design Group April 3, 2016

GHBA is the best! Really appreciate the educational classes and seminars you provide.

Angela Johnston J. Patrick Homes April 3, 2016

Love, love, love the classes. GHBA has had a couple more Marketing type classes this year which is wonderful. Our businesses aren’t just about building homes, we have to market them first to sell them! Keep up the good work!!

Jenifer Moore ROC Homes Texas LTD April 3, 2016

The events for associates to sponsor are great. We have met several new customers and prospects from our first event. Thank you very much to the builder community for taking the time to come to the events to get to know us.

Ivan Madrigal Builder's Choice, Inc. April 3, 2016

The GHBA and RMC are great organizations that do a lot to help our city. I am proud to be a member and we will continue to work together in the future. I never imagined my company would have made this far (21 Years). Thanks to the GHBA and RMC, we are looking forward to 21 more.

Dan Argo A-Plus Glass Services April 3, 2016

The GHBA has always strived to increase the knowledge and professionalism of its members, by offering educational series, mentoring and best practices. Combined, this training hones the skills necessary for members to build and improve the quality and overall value of the products offered to Houston’s homeowners.

Frank Marsters Marsters Company April 3, 2016

The GHBA has been a great resource for more than just our marketing department. They have provided us with the opportunity to easily get to know a great network of people that represent some of the best businesses in our area.

Ashley Johnson RoofTec April 3, 2016

The GHBA has done so much to improve me as a building professional and equip me to grow my company. The staff and members take a genuine interest in helping each other succeed and grow. I count many of these folks as friends and mentors.

Kevin Vick Vick Construction & Remodeling Inc. April 3, 2016

The GHBA is a wonderful organization and I’m proud to be a member. There are so many ways to be involved both on a professional and personal level. Numerous volunteer activities gives everyone the opportunity to give back to the community in which they earn their living.

Maria Frank Cabinets & Designs April 3, 2016

The GHBA is an important part of my career in the new home building industry. I have met so many wonderful professionals and have enjoyed forming some amazing friendships over the last 12 years of being a member. Serving on the SMC board has been very rewarding and it is an honor to give back to my industry as a passionate volunteer. Happy 75th anniversary to my second family at the GHBA and may you have many more!

Laurie Wilson First American Title-Homebuilder Division April 3, 2016

This is only my first month as Business Operations Manager with Array Investment Group and had a great time at EXPO! I am new to the construction industry and really enjoyed the one-hour session that I attended.

Christopher Romero Array Investment Group April 3, 2016

ACES Builders Warranty, Inc. has been participating in the GHBA Product Expo for the past 3 years with a booth. This is the only show we do. We have found this to be the best money spent versus any other show as we get a targeted audience in reaching new and potential builders, as well as face time with our current customers. Less than a week after the show this year we already had three meetings on the books from builders that stopped by our booth. I highly recommend as an associate member of GHBA participating in the GHBA Product Expo. It is worth every penny.

ACES Builders Warranty, Inc. April 3, 2016

The GHBA Builder Expo was a home run for Goodman. We met many new builders and scheduled appointments with them. Our first appointment led to a sale of 160 ductless split HVAC systems! We will definitely participate in the GHBA Builder Expo next year.

National Accounts Builder Manager (Central), Goodman Manufacturing Company L.P. April 3, 2016

I would like to personally thank you for one of the most informative and enjoyable luncheons I have attended. I really appreciated the remarks Dr. Mark Dotzour had to share.

Bob Hudson April 3, 2016

We recognize the invaluable service GHBA provides to all members in the way of education and advocacy, as well as the opportunity to build lifelong relationships. We only wish we had joined sooner, and strongly recommend that any company serious about the homebuilding industry do so as soon as possible.

Michael Raney Surface Systems of Texas April 3, 2016

The CBC Speed Selling event at Bowlmor Lanes was great! I think everyone there had a great time. Combining bowling and talking about business made it more casual and laid back. It created an opportunity for both builders and subcontractors/suppliers to get in touch with each other, that otherwise may not have had the chance.

Zach Gavos General Manager, Sullivan Brothers Builders April 3, 2016

I can say the CBC Speed Selling event is the most effective activity GHBA has created to make the best use of all participants’ time and to enjoy the process. I was introduced to subs and suppliers I did not know existed, found out information to help my clients, and started the development of important relationships that will make my service to my clients better and in a very short time. It would have taken weeks if not months to set up those meetings and some I might not have known to set up due to ignorance of their existence. I also was able to determine that I should not quit my day job and go on the bowling circuit… unless I want to be the person that got bugs out of the gutters with the ball!

John St. John John R. St. John Const, Inc./JSJ Inc. April 3, 2016

My active participation in the GHBA has been one of the single largest contributors in my professional development. I feel a great debt to the Association for the things I have learned, the colleagues I have met, and the results in legislation for which we have worked on together.

John Williams Manager Quality Assurance, K. Hovnanian Family of Builders - Houston April 3, 2016

Joining and being active in the Remodelers Council has given me the tools to keep my company on the forefront of our industry. Continuing education, networking with peers and building camaraderie with like-minded people has allowed me to grow professionally and has been instrumental in reaching my goals.

Wayne Ball, CGR, CAPS Lone Star Building & Construction Services, Inc. June 16, 2016

Working with the market’s most successful professionals teaches not only the best construction practices but the best business practices. The Remodelers Council’s monthly luncheon series is exceptionally educational. It covers a wide range of topical and timely topics that can influence our respective businesses—bringing one or two new ideas from each luncheon is invaluable.

As a materials supplier to the industry, the open communications help me understand my customers’ needs and hence better equip our business to optimally service those.

Warren Clark BMC | BISON June 16, 2016

When we selected the Green Built Gulf Coast Program for construction techniques and energy efficiency guidelines, we did so with the knowledge that this program (unlike other known national programs) was specifically designed to address particular issues that are unique to our Gulf Coast climate. Participating in a program like Green Built Gulf Coast keeps us at the forefront of ongoing industry improvements designed for the benefit of our homeowners and their long term satisfaction with the quality, energy efficiency and reduced operating costs associated with owning a GBGC-certified home.

Enterra Homes June 16, 2016

We strive to provide an outstanding, quality built home that provides lasting value for our homeowners. That’s why we are members of the GHBA and build energy efficient homes certified by Green Built Gulf Coast.

Malaga Homes June 16, 2016

Sandcastle has partnered with GBGC to provide peace of mind to home owners. Owning a GBGC home that has been scored and certified gives reassurance to a home buyer that they have purchased a better built home. Third party verification and inspections, required by GBGC, ensure accurately applied construction practices and building science techniques which are critical in reduction of home operating costs and reduced resource use.

Sandcastle Homes June 16, 2016

Darling is a proud builder of more than GBGC homes in the Houston area. With these methods of energy efficient appliances and eco-conscious building techniques, GBGC certified homes not only lower maintenance costs, they also consume less energy and emit less greenhouse gases while still allowing residents to keep the modern luxuries….These technologies also improve the air quality inside the home while maintaining a comfortable living experience.

Darling Homes June 16, 2016

With a GBGC certification, there is a thoughtfulness put into each design so that the homes lives well and is as efficient as possible.

Tony Marchbanks Highland Homes, Houston Division Vice President June 16, 2016

I would like to express how beneficial [the Top Golf speed selling] was for my team. We met some very professional and knowledgeable representatives yesterday. Thank you for hosting this impactful event.

Frank Sifuentes Purchasing Manager, Houston Division, Toll Brothers Inc. June 17, 2016

The new format makes those speed selling events a lot more fun! I’ve already marked my calendar for the next one!

Andrew Foote Purchasing Manager, Partners in Building June 17, 2016

Receiving the first ever GHBA Young Professional of the Year award is the proudest professional moment of my life. I always do my best to work towards results instead of recognition, but I must say that the recognition feels amazing. After receiving the award, I had several members come by to congratulate me, some of whom I just wanted to know my name several years ago. If it weren’t for the GHBA, I wouldn’t know these people, I wouldn’t be as involved in industry legislation, and I certainly wouldn’t be receiving such recognition.

John Williams Manager Quality Assurance, K. Hovnanian Family of Builders - Houston June 23, 2016

Earning designations has virtually revolutionized my business. Not only has it increased my confidence in the marketplace, but it has set me and my company apart from the vast sea of contractors out there. Possessing these attributes has led us more consistently to our ideal clientele. Having designations labels me as someone who has chosen to excel as a remodeler.

Kevin C. Vick, CGR, CAPS, CGO President, Vick Construction and Remodeling Inc. June 23, 2016

My time has been well spent attending fundraisers and events for candidates who support our industry. These individuals have proven valuable to our association in assisting with important legislation at the State level as well as developing policies and ordinances at the local level. I encourage all of our association members to become knowledgeable about the political process.

Jim Holcomb HOME-PAC Chairman & President, Holcomb Properties June 24, 2016

I have enjoyed being part of HOME-PAC as it has allowed me access to our Congressmen and City Council members to discuss things that are important to my homebuilding business. I gain a lot of insight into the thoughts and opinions of our elected officials; that can be a lot different than what you read in the paper.

Mike Dishberger Sandcastle Homes June 24, 2016

GHBA HOME-PAC has proven to be one of the strongest business investments I have made. By participating in HOME-PAC, I have been introduced to elected officials at all levels of government that have been able to have a positive impact on my business and industry. The relationships that HOME-PAC has are some of the strongest in the industry, and I am proud to call myself a GHBA HOME-PAC Trustee.

Lisa Clark Ryko Development June 24, 2016

We are thrilled to be building a 2016 Benefit Home. We have built several homes for this GHBA fundraiser and it was a very rewarding experience for both us and our vendors.

Will Holder President, Trendmaker Homes June 25, 2016

You guys did a phenomenal job on the EXPO! We landed a lot a of leads, met some key management of production builders, and made some new friends that will offer great networking opportunities. On behalf of Cast Fireplaces, we feel very privileged to be part of such an amazing organization. See you again at next year’s EXPO!

Sonora Storm Cast Fireplaces, Inc. November 1, 2016

Years ago, when we first started coming to the Builder EXPO, we really wanted to cultivate new builder accounts and hopefully sell product. It’s been about 10 years now and what we’ve learned is not to expect or push the builder relationship to happen; it happens over time. Time meaning, “time in.” We have been at the GHBA Expo year after year, and every time the builders and remodelers come through, they see us and our booth. It’s time in that gave us the credibility to establish new builder relationships. This year, we added four new builders and received two work orders by the end of the week. Now, it helps obviously to be at the top of the industry when it comes to product and pricing, but it’s the “time in” that truly makes the difference.

Richard De Young CEO and President, Aqua Systems of Houston January 5, 2017

We love using the GHBA/TAB builder contracts, and they have saved us on so many instances! We have been in this business for 30 years and these contracts sum up every incident we have ever experienced. We sleep better at night knowing that everything is spelled out. We have had no negative feedback from any of our clients either (we typically build all spec homes). I know they appreciate the contract as well.

The best part is that whenever I have a question, I contact Ian Faria (Bradley Law Firm) and he gets back to immediately. He has expert advice and hasn’t charged me a penny for the advice he’s given. Ian and the contacts are priceless! Thank you for all you and GHBA do for us!

Tami Denault Gregory Homes Inc. June 19, 2017


Drop us a line…

We love feedback! Heap praise or leave a suggestion for the GHBA. We’re always striving to improve our member services and we want to hear your thoughts.

  • If you'd like to put a face with the name, upload your photo here.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.